Real People, Real Radio

Umbra Vitae Premiere New Single

Umbra Vitae Premiere New Single

Umbra Vitae Premiere New Single “Belief Is Obsolete” From Upcoming New Album “Light Of Death”

Umbra Vitae Premiere New Single

Band Photo: This Is Hell (?)

Umbra Vitae has unveiled the complete details for their second album, “Light Of Death,” slated for release on June 7th via Deathwish Inc. The supergroup recorded the album at GodCity Studio in Salem, MA, under the guidance of Kurt Ballou (Converge) and Zach Weeks. The album’s lead single, “Belief Is Obsolete,” offers an initial glimpse into the 15-track offering, and is now available for streaming via YouTube and Spotify for you below..

Ballou’s collaboration with Umbra Vitae vocalist Jacob Bannon, both members of the veteran metalcore band Converge, brings a sense of familiarity to the project. The lineup also features guitarist/vocalist Mike “Gunface” McKenzie (The Red Chord, Wear Your Wounds, Stomach Earth), guitarist/vocalist Sean Martin (Twitching Tongues, Wear Your Wounds, ex-Hatebreed), bassist/vocalist Greg Weeks (The Red Chord, Sexless Marriage, etc.), and drummer Jon Rice (Uncle Acid & The Deadbeats, ex-Job For A Cowboy, etc.).

Martin shared his thoughts on the song, indicating:

“This song came from a demo I recorded at ye olde home studio although, as with all of the songs on this record, we managed to make it sound even more disgusting in the best possible way! I like Swedish Death Metal and Thrash, can you tell? Big, mean, hairy end riff to carry you out.”

Adds Bannon:

“Musically, ‘Belief Is Obsolete‘ is signature Sean Martin Bay Area Thrash worship. The performances from all of us on this one are completely redlined from beginning to end. Lyrically I explore the idea that ‘belief’ in the traditional sense is obsolete in the modern age we live in. It is abused as a shield and weapon socially, politically, and spiritually, ultimately becoming a burden for all.”

Continues Greg Weeks:

“One of the great perks of being in this band is that at any moment there could be a crushing song written by Sean Martin in a google drive that you have access to that very few people do. This is an example of such a song. Hard hitting and riff heavy Belief is Obsolete gets me juiced!”

McKenzie also contributed his thoughts, expressing that the song “…has a pretty meaty ending with an over the top lead in to a big riff that is incredibly fun to play. I can’t wait to play this song live.”

“Light Of Death” track-list:

01 – “Leave Of Absence”
02 – “Belief Is Obsolete”
03 – “Clear Cutter”
04 – “Anti-Spirit Machine”
05 – “Reality In Retrograde”
06 – “Past Tense”
07 – “Velvet Black”
08 – “Twenty-Twenty Vision”
09 – “Algorithm Of Fear”
10 – “Empty Vessel”
11 – “Cause & Effect”
12 – “Deep End”
13 – “Nature vs. Nurture”
14 – “Fatal Flaw”
15 – “Light Of Death”

The band has currently scheduled three shows with The Hope Conspiracy:

06/07 Cambridge, MA – Sonia (feat. Colin Of Arabia & New Lows)
06/08 Brooklyn, NY – Meadows (feat. This Is Hell & Staticlone)
06/09 Philadelphia, PA – First Unitarian Church (feat. Scarab & Staticlone)

Source link

Shopping Cart